The Wochi story : The dream…

image

 

 

I absolutely believe in the co-operative values and principles, as anyone who knows me will tell you. For me, the (acknowledged) heritage of the co-operative movement, the story of the Rochdale Pioneers is the most perfect story that could ever have been written about a business model. Those of us that believe passionately in it have a duty to keep the principles alive in everything we do.

I am proud therefore to have worked for The Co-operative for over 16 years. I am also proud to have served as an elected member of the Group. I’m even more proud to have worked with incredible people to campaign for and promote the inspirational work that the Group has done, not least the ground-breaking Ethical Plan.

People have said that makes me a Co-op Geek, but I’m happy to wear that badge.

As a lover of language too, a flag-bearer, a pedant, a champion of the power of words and what some would consider a weaver of the spell of communication; I have been privileged to combine two loves in one for a long time.

For some time I have been dreaming of stepping out of the corporate world, following a dream and setting up independently. My dream has two pillars.

  • To set up independently to primarily offer communication support to charities, co-ops, credit unions and other values driven organisations
  • To become a co-operative to support the principle of co-operation among co-operatives

I’ve taken the leap to the first and I’m really embracing the challenge. My first two weeks have been exciting and incredibly rewarding. I will be striving to ensure it continues in that vein. The second will no doubt take longer but it’s the logical path so I will continue towards it.

your support and good wishes are so gratefully received and incredibly valued.

Thanks

Mary

Follow me on Twitter and share your views @Wochicomms

Leave a Reply

